Contact Us

PW Case Review Form
*    Denotes required field.

   * First Name 

   * Last Name 

   * Email 


   * Please describe your case:

What injury have you suffered?

For verification purposes, please answer the below question:

No Yes, I agree to the Parker Waichman LLP disclaimers. Click here to review.

Yes, I would like to receive the Parker Waichman LLP monthly newsletter, InjuryAlert.

please do not fill out the field below.

Deadlines for Some WTC Cancer Victims Quickly Approaching

Jul 25, 2014

The deadline to register in the James Zadroga Compensation fund is quickly approaching for some WTC first responders and rescue workers who developed cancer in the aftermath of 9/11.

For victims who were diagnosed with one of the cancers first recognized by the Victim’s Compensation Fund (VCF) on or before October 12, 2012, the deadline to register is October 12, 2014, according to The PBA Beat. Anyone who was diagnosed with prostate cancer on or before October 21, 2013 must register by October 21, 2015. Those diagnosed with a “rare cancer” must register by February 18, 2016. If members were diagnosed with any of the recognized cancers after the relevant cut-off date, they have up to two years to register but the date cannot be later than October 3, 2016.

Many rescue workers and volunteers who helped with the 9/11 clean-up developed cancers and other serious illnesses from exposure to toxic dust. For many people, however, did not develop illnesses until years later. The Zadroga Act, named after the late New York Police Department detective James Zadroga, was established December 2010 to reopen the victim's compensation fund for five years; it provides compensation to 9/11 victims who developed illnesses as a result of exposure to toxic dust. According to The New York Times, there are as many as 65,000 people enrolled in the WTC medical monitoring and treatment program.

Several provisions have been added to the Zadroga Act since it has been enacted. More than 50 cancers were added to the listed of covered illness in September 2012 by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). In January, four cancers were added, including malignant neoplasm of the cervix uteri (invasive cervical cancer), malignant neoplasm of the testis (testicular cancer), brain cancer and pancreatic cancer.

Parker Waichman Accolades And Reviews Best Lawyers Find Us On Avvo