LYNBROOK, Long Island, N.Y. — A 31-year-old man was tragically killed in a multi-car auto accident in Lynbrook. The crash happened on May 6, 2019, according to Long Island News. Nassau County Police Homicide Squad detectives drew the assignment to investigate the incident. The investigating detectives did not make any arrests at the scene of the crash.
Lynbrook police officers responded to the intersection of Peninsula Boulevard and Hempstead Avenue to investigate a report of a severe motor vehicle accident. Upon arrival, they found the 31-year-old motorist suffering from mortal injuries. First responders transported him to a nearby hospital. Physicians at the hospital declared the man deceased from the injuries he sustained in the crash. Police did not identify the other driver involved in the crash. However, the officers noted that the only person injured in the crash was the person who died. The investigation into the incident by the Nassau County Homicide Squad continues.
When an accident victim or the family of a person who died in a motor vehicle crash consider pursuing a legal claim for damages in the State of New York, the claimants must be cognizant of deadlines by which a lawsuit must be filed. Missing these deadlines will prevent accident victims and their families from recovering damages from the crash.
In the State of New York, the claimant has three years to file a lawsuit for personal injuries against the person who caused a car accident. The three-year time frame is called the statute of limitations. However, New York law imposes differing time frames under the statute of limitations depending on the facts and circumstances of the accident. For example, a wrongful death claim must be filed within two years of the death of the victim. Additionally, a victim who asserts a claim for damages against a governmental subdivision like a city or town must give notice under New York’s Notice of Claim Act within 90 days of the event that inflicted the injury upon the victim. Lastly, New York’s No-Fault law, meaning the law that requires auto insurers to cover medical bills and lost wages up to a set amount, imposes a 30-day notice requirement from the date of the initial injury.
New York | Brooklyn | Queens | Long Island | New Jersey | Florida
Call us at: 1-800-YOURLAWYER (800-968-7529) | Schedule your free consultation
Have you lost a loved one in a car accident?Click To Get A Free Case Review